Public Safety

Posted on: April 13, 2017

Annual Recognition and Awards - National Telecommunicators Week (Public Safety)

DPS NTW Celebration 2017

On Tuesday, April 11, 2017, the Washington County Department of Public Safety held our annual department awards and recognition luncheon in conjunction with National Public Safety Telecommunicators week!

County Administrator Chris DeBolt presented our Communications staff with an official Proclamation from the Board of Supervisors signed by Chairman Bob Henke, declaring April 9th through April 15th to be National Telecommunicators Week in Washington County, in honor of the men and women whose diligence and professionalism help to keep our county, public safety field personnel, citizens and visitors safe.


Annual Department Awards, Years of Service Awards and Meritorious Service Awards were recognized as follows:

  • “Rookie of the Year": Communications Officer Courtney Sady
  • "Most Improved Communicator": Communications Officer Thomas Schilling
  • "Communications Training Officer of the Year": Communications Officer (CTO) Arthur Porlier
  • "Communications Officer of the Year": Communications Officer William Brown

The annual awardees were selected based upon their performance during the past year and voted on by the Communications Center staff and Administration.

Years of Service Awards (Presented by County Administrator Chris DeBolt)

  • 10 Years of Service: Supervising Communications Officer David Chambers
  • 15 Years of Service: Communications Officers Leslie Gordon and Larry Sourdiffe
  • 20 Years of Service: Supervising Communications Officer Clifton Witham

Meritorious Service Awards

  • Communications Officer Joel Archambault was issued a Meritorious Service Award for his role as the 911 Communications Officer / Emergency Medical Dispatcher on a 911 call from a child reporting the cardiac arrest of a parent.
  • Communications Officer Nicole Moyer was issued a 911 Lifesaver Award for her role as the 911 Communications Officer / Emergency Medical Dispatcher on a 911 call reporting the Cardiac / Respiratory Arrest of a subject. Following providing Emergency Medical Dispatch instruction to the caller, and the caller administering support to the patient, the patient was breathing upon arrival of the EMS and Fire responders.
  • Communications Officer Ashlee Zinn was issued a Meritorious Service Award for her role and work as the Emergency Medical Dispatch Program Coordinator and lead on our Quality Assurance and Improvement (QA/QI) program, as well as her continued support and recognition for her co-workers and the work they do. Our EMD program has proven to be an important, life-saving program for our Communications Center, our communities and the residents and visitors who rely on us in their time of need. Communications Officer Zinn strives to ensure our staff is trained to the best of our abilities in all aspects of the program and is always looking for ways in which we can acknowledge our successes and improve the program wherever we can.

Throughout the week the 911 Communications Center personnel had a number of visitors and local officials who expressed their support for the work they do and/or stopped by for a visit to see what it’s like behind the scenes and “under the headset.”  We are very appreciative of the support for our staff and the interest in what they do to help those in need and support our public safety partners in the field. 

We wish to thank all of our Communications Center staff for their dedication and hard work throughout the last year. Coordinating communications in Public Safety services is a task like few others and takes a dedicated team to be the lifeline for our residents, visitors, and public safety field partners we serve proudly.


[Photographed from L-R: CO Regina Ladd, CO James Brooks, CO (Retired) Paul Dietrich, SCO Clifton Witham, CO Nicole Moyer, CO Jason Lloyd, CO Thomas Schilling, CO Stephanie Williams, CO Leslie Gordon, AA (Retired) Celinda Holleran, CO Ashlee Zinn, SCO (Retired) Stephen Griffin, CO Larry Sourdiffe, CO Daniel Callahan, CO William Brown]

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Public Safety