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OFFICE OF THE SHERIFF  

WASHINGTON COUNTY NEW YORK  

To obtain a pistol permit in Washington County, you must: 

 
Be at least 21 years of age and have lived in Washington County for at least one year. 
 
You can pick up a pistol permit application at the Washington County Law 
Enforcement Center. The cost is $20.00 for the application. You can pay by cash, 
check, credit or debit card or money order.  
 
When you arrive to have fingerprinting completed (by appointment only), you will 
need $115.00. This can be paid by cash, check, money order or credit/debit card. 
 
Unless you’re a corrections officer with a weapons card or a member of a police 
force with a weapons training card, you will need to complete a handgun safety 
course. This course is provided at the Law Enforcement Center in Fort Edward. We 
will also accept Warren County’s handgun safety course. The cost of the Washington 
County class is $40.00. We will sign you up for the first available class the day you 
pick up your application packet. You will also need three color passport sized photos. 
 
You will need four character references that all live in Washington County, New 
York. References have to be over 21 years of age, have known the applicant for more 
than one year and have also lived in Washington County, New York for more than 
one year. These references can NOT be related to the applicant by blood or as an in-
law. These character references will need to complete a character reference form and 
have that form notarized. Character references will also need to complete a phone 
interview. 
 
If you are a husband and wife living in the same home, you can co-own weapons. 
These are the only exceptions our Judge will allow.  
 
The Sheriff’s Office will complete a mental health background check. One check will 
be completed through Glens Falls Hospital and the other through New York State 
Mental Health. 
 
For private sales between individuals, you will need: 

 
Your pistol permit, driver’s license and the bill of sale from a gun dealer. There is a 
$5.00 fee to complete the amendment (no matter how many guns you add or delete 
from your permit) Private sales need to go through a licensed gun dealer as outlined 
by the NYS Safe Act. 
 
According to the state website, people exempt from going through a dealer are: 
spouses, domestic partners, children and step-children. To transfer between family 
members, an affidavit is required and needs to be signed and notarized by BOTH the 
seller and buyer. 
   


