PUBLIC HEALTH CAR SEAT PROGRAMS...

Car Seat Distribution Program
If you can’t afford a car seat...

Car Seat Fitting Station:

Have a car seat but need help...

Parents/Guardians that live in
Washington County* may be able to get
a car seat and a lesson putting the seat
in right, if they do not already have a
car seat and take part in any of these
programs:

«WIC

«Medicaid

«Food Stamps

«Social Security

«Public Assistance

«Head Start

«Community Maternity Services

Call 746-2400 and ask to talk to someone
about the Car Seat Program. If you
meet the guidelines, an appointment
will be set up.

We have seats for every stage
your child will need.
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*Not from Washington County? Check the back
\ page for how to find someone in your area.

Washington County Public Health can
check the car seat you have, to see if it is
safe to use and show you how to use it
right.

This program is for anyone living in
Washington County*, regardless of
income.

Appointments are needed, so call ahead!

96% of Parents THINK they are using
their car seat right...however,

72-84% of car seats are used WRONG...

Find out if yours one of them!

THE ONES

. WHO

ACTUALLY
DO.

Common misuse include: using the wrong car seat for
the child’s age, weight, height; car seat put in loose or
wrong; harness too loose; chest clip too low and more!

Is your child’s harness right?! \

A car seat is a SAFETY device and
must be used right to work properly!

Having a harness that is too loose or
has the chest clip in the wrong place
are two common car seat misuses.

Here are two easy corrections you can
make today...

Harness should be so tight you can’t
pinch any of the strap on the shoulder.

These straps will STRETCH out in a crash, so
you don’t want them loose to start with!

Harness Retainer Clip (Chest Clip)
should be at the child’s armpit level

INCORRECT

The chest clip is there to keep the harness on the
child’s shoulders. If there is a crash, the clip will
slide lower. Ifit’s too low to start with, the child
could be thrown from the car seat! /
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AAP Recommendations
(American Academy of Pediatrics)

Best practice recommendation #1

Infants and toddlers should ride in a rear-facing
car safety seat as long as possible, until they
reach the highest weight or height allowed
by their car seat. Most convertible seats have
limits that will allow children to ride rear-
facing for 2 years or more.

Best practice recommendation #2

Once they are facing forward, children should
use a forward-facing car safety seat with a
harness for as long as possible, until they
reach the height or weight limits for their
seats. Many seats can be used with children up
to 65 pounds or more.

Best practice recommendation #3

When children exceed the height and weight
limits on their forward facing seats, they should
use a belt-positioning booster seat until the
vehicle’s lap and shoulder seat belt fits
properly. This is often when they have reached
at least 4’9” in height and are 8 to 12 years old.

New York State Law

Children under the age of 4 need to be
restrained in a federally approved car seat
when riding in a motor vehicle.

Effective November 1, 2019 - Children
under 2 must be in a rear-facing car seat.

All children under the age of 2 must use a rear-
facing car seat until they are 2 years old or
reach the highest weight or height limit allowed
by the manufacturer of the car seat. For babies
that outgrow their infant-only car seat, a
convertible or 3-in-1 car seat should be used in
the rear-facing position until they outgrow the
maximum height or weight for the rear-facing
position.

Children ages 4, 5, 6 and 7 must be properly
secured in a car seat, booster or harness/vest
until their 8th birthday*, one that your child
meets the weight and height
recommendations of the child restraint
manufacturer.

*If the child is 8 years old and is under 4'9"
tall or weighs less than 100 pounds, it is
recommended that you keep using a child
restraint system.
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KNOW FOR SURE

IF YOUR CHILD IS IN THE RIGHT CAR SEAT.

Can’t afford a car seat?

Not from Washington County? Check Here:

Warren County-
AAA Northway 518-761-6058 Checks by appointment

Warren Co Sheriff’s 518-743-2500 Checks by appointment

Best practice recommendation #4

When children are old enough and large enough
to use the vehicle seat belt alone, they should
always use lap-and-shoulder seat belts for best
protection.

Already have a car seat,
but not sure if it’s in right?

Saratoga County-
Cornell Cooperative Ext of Saratoga County

518-885-8995 x228

We can help!

Best practice recommendation #5

All children younger than 13 years of age
should be restrained in the rear seats of
vehicles for best protection.

Other Locations: Visit http://cert.safekids.org and
click on the “Find a Tech” link. There, you can find
someone by State, County or Postal Code.
Washington County Public Health
- 415 Lower Main Street

Like us on Facebook: Hudson Falls, NY 12839

Washington County, NY Public Health Department
Phone: 746-2400

Follow us on Twitter:
WashingtonCoNYph

Program funded through a grant from
NEWYORK | Governor’s Traffic
greornme | Safety Committee




