
Do the "Eyes, Ears and Mouth" check: 

              EYES check: Position the helmet 
on your head.  Look up and you should 
see the bottom rim of the helmet (one to 
two fingers above the eyebrows).  

 

 EARS check:  Make sure the 
adjuster is under the ear so that the 
straps of the helmet form a "V" under 
your ears when buckled.  The strap 
should be snug but comfortable.  
 

            MOUTH check:  Now open your 
mouth as wide as you can!  Do you feel 
the helmet hug your head?  If not, 
tighten those straps!   

PUBLIC HEALTH BIKE SAFETY PROGRAMS... 

Parents/Guardians that live in 
Washington County* may be able to get 
a bike helmet and a lesson using it right, 
if they do not already have a bike 
helmet and take part in any of these 
programs: 

«WIC      

«Medicaid 

«Food Stamps   

«Social Security    

«Public Assistance 

«Head Start  

«Community Maternity Services        
 

 

Call 746-2400 and ask to talk to someone 
about the Bike Helmet Program.   If you 
meet the guidelines, an appointment 
will be set up.  

Or call one of our Partnering Agencies 

Cambridge Valley Rescue Squad:   
      518- 677-8211 
Easton-Greenwich Rescue Squad:  
           518- 507-6507 
Granville Rescue Squad: 
     518-642-1830 
Greenwich Volunteer Fire Department 
      518 692-9002  
Salem Rescue Squad:  
       518-854-7199 

Bike Helmet Program 

If you can’t afford a bike helmet  Bike Helmets reduce the 
risks of a serious head 
injury by nearly 70%!  

Is your child’s Helmet right?!  

Image source: www.bicycling.com  

OR  

http://bikeleague.org 

The “ABC Quick Spin Check”: 

A is for Air: Be sure you have enough air in 

your tires 

B is for Brakes: Look to see that your brake 

pads are not worn  

C is for Chain and Cranks: Pull on your 

cranks to see that they are not loose and look to 

see that the chain is not rusted and it is free of 

gunk  

Quick Release: Make sure all quick releases 

are closed 

Spin is for Spinning the Wheels: Make sure 

they spin smoothly, don’t wobble, and have no 

broken Spokes. 

Check is for Check it Over: Take a slow, 

brief ride to check that your bike is working 

right 

If there is not a sidewalk, Walk 
on the LEFT, Facing Traffic so you 
can see cars coming toward you.   

Always Bike on the RIGHT, With 
Traffic because you must obey all 
traffic signals, signs, and markings. 

Know your Hand Signals 

 We have Helmets 

for every age…    

from Kids to Adults.  
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Bicyclists, in-line skaters, and  people on non-

motorized scooters under the age of 14 are 

required by law to wear an approved safety 

helmet.  

Any parent or guardian who allows their child  

to violate the helmet law is subject to a fine of 

up to $50.  

Children under 1 year old are not allowed on 

bicycles or in bicycle trailers. 

Bicyclists and in-line skaters must ride with 

traffic so they can obey all traffic signals, signs 

and pavement markings. Bicyclists must also 

signal for turns whether driving on a roadway, a 

bike lane or bike path.                                            

                       (See Inside for hand signals)  

The law  also requires that you: 

 Report a bicycle crash that involves death or 

serious injury to the New York State 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 

10 days of the incident. Parents must file on 

behalf of minor children. 

 Sit on the bike seat, not the fender or 

handlebars. Keep feet on the pedals, and never 

carry more people on the bike than the number 

for which it was designed. 

 Keep at least one hand on the handlebar at all 

times. 

 Never attach yourself or your bike to another 

vehicle on the roadway. 

 Never drive a bicycle with a motor attached 

on any public highway. 

 Never wear more than one earphone attached 

to a radio, tape player or other audio device. 

New York State Law 

Washington County Public Health 
415 Lower Main Street 

Hudson Falls, NY 12839 

Phone: 746-2400 

Like us on Facebook:  

Washington County, NY Public Health Department 

Follow us on Twitter: 

WashingtonCoNYph 

In New York State a bicycle must have:  

 A brake that is capable of making the bike 

tires skid on dry level pavement. 

 A bell, horn or other device that can be 

heard at least 100 feet away. Sirens and 

whistles are not permitted. 

 Bicycles driven between 1/2 hour after 

sunset and 1/2 hour before sunrise must be 

equipped with a white front headlight 

visible in darkness for at least 500 feet, and 

a red taillight visible for at least 300 feet. 

 Any bicycle driven at night, must have 

reflective tires, or wide-angle, spoke-

mounted reflectors. Reflectors must be 

colorless or amber for front wheels, and 

colorless or red for rear wheels. 

Helmets are important for riders of 
ALL ages, not just young bicyclists! 

86% of bicyclists deaths are people 
20 or older!  

Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety  

http://www.safeny.ny.gov/media/share-road.htm 

http://www.safeny.ny.gov/media/share-road.htm 

Can’t afford a                 

Bike Helmet? 

We can help! 

Look inside for New York State Laws 

and other Bike Safety information too!  


